Fireworks Laws by State (A-M)

April 16, 2018

 

State Laws

Consumer and Display Fireworks Laws by State, A-M

Source: American Pyrotechnics Association Directory of State Laws

(Laws by State O-Z)

Alabama

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically permitted

    • Items that comply with regulations of the CPSC, DOT definitions and trick noisemakers.

  • Specifically prohibited

    • Manufacture, possession, sale or use of “illegal ground salutes,” fireworks containing more than 2 grains of explosive composition; any mail-order fireworks.

  • Selling period

    • June 20-July 10 and December 15-January 2 Sales from tents or motor vehicles are prohibited.

  • Age of purchase

    • 16 years, unless accompanied by adult.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to the State Fire Marshal at least 10 days before display date. (The Marshal may accept late applications if a higher application fee is paid.)

  • Insurance

    • None specifically required in state law.

  • Operator

    • No license specifically required in state law


Alaska

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically permitted

    • Roman candles, skyrockets, helicopter rockets, cylindrical and cone fountains, wheels, torches, dipped sticks, mines and shells, firecrackers with soft casings, and novelties (size limitations specified).

  • Specifically prohibited

    • All fireworks that are not defined as salable consumer fireworks.

  • Age to purchase

    • 18 years of age

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to State Fire Marshal.

  • Insurance

    • Required. Minimum $1,000,000 for personal injury and death, minimum $500,000 for property damages.

  • Operator

    • State certification required. Pyrotechnics operator must take written test.


Arizona

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically permitted May 20 –July 6, Dec. 10 – Jan. 3

    • Ground based sparkling devices including fountains multiple tube cake devices, illuminating torches, wheels, and ground spinners

  • Specifically permitted year round

    • Sparklers, smoker devices, and novelty devices as defined in APA Std. 87-1 2001 edition.

  • Specifically prohibited

    • Aerial consumer fireworks, bottle & sky rockets, helicopters, torpedoes, roman candles & jumping jacks.

Aerial Consumer, Display Fireworks & Pyrotechnics

  • Consumer Fireworks Permits

    • Check local regulations for permit fees, zoning, and fire Inspections.

  • Display Permits

    • Fire Marshal has permit authority over all fireworks and pyrotechnics displays & events on public school, state, and country properties.

  • Pyrotechnics

    • $164 Special Events Tent $164 Fair or Trade Show $164 Explosives or Blasting Storage $164

  • Insurance

    • May be required by local authorities

  • Operator

    • No license specifically required by state law but may be required by local authorities.


Arkansas

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Roman candles, skyrockets, helicopter rockets, cylindrical and cone fountains, wheels, torches, colored fire, dipped sticks, mines and shells, firecrackers with soft casings, and novelties (size limitations specified.)

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • June 20-July 10 and December 10-January 5 (Snakes and sparklers permitted all year.)

  • Age to Purchase

    • 12 years

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to Director of State Police at least 2 days before display date. Prior approval by local authorities required.

  • Insurance

    • Proof of liability.

  • Operator

    • Shooters license required.


California

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Per APA Std. 87-1, the following items are permitted: ground & hand-held sparkling devices, cylindrical & cone fountains, wheel & ground spinners, illuminating torch, flitter sparklers (morning glory) not exceeding 10” in length or ¼” in diameter, toy smoke device, party poppers and snappers. Fireworks for sale must appear on the approved list issued annually by the SFM office.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Firecrackers, skyrockets, rockets, roman candles, chasers, all wire & wooden stick sparklers, surprise items, friction items, torpedoes, firework kits, and fireworks containing arsenic, phosphorus, thiocyanates magnesium (magnesium-aluminum alloys permitted ), mercury salts, picrates or picric acid, gallates or gallic acid, chlorates (with few excepts), boron, titanium (except particle sizes larger than 100 mesh), zirconium, gunpowder, and fireworks kits.

  • Selling Period

    • Noon, June 28, through noon, July 6.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 16 years of age

  • Age to Sell

    • 18 years of age

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to State Fire Marshal prior to application to local authorities. After obtaining state license apply to local authorities at least 10 days before display date. “Special” state license authorizes multiple displays at single site only, $350 fee. “Limited” state license allows holding of a single display at a single location, $200 fee. “General” state license allows the holding and conducting of public displays of dangerous fireworks at various locations and at various times, $1,500 fee. Public Display licenses must report all contemplated displays to State Fire Marshal before display date, and file a post display report with the CA SFM within 10 working days of the display.

  • Insurance

    • Required. Minimum $1,000,000 combined single limits (personal/property) per occurrence annually, may have $15,000 deductible

  • Operator

    • State license required, apply to State Fire Marshal. Fee $50-$250 dependent on license classification. Written exam and evidence as to qualifications and experience is required. Original operator's license will not be issued for the month of June unless the application was received in the State Fire Marshal’s office on or before the preceding May 15th.


Colorado

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Cylindrical and cone fountains, ground spinners, torches and colored fire, dipped sticks and sparklers, snakes and glow worms, trick noisemakers, and certain other novelties. These items are subject to size and chemical composition limitations.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Firecrackers, aerial devices, audible ground devices, and any fireworks not specifically permitted.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 16 years of age

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to local authorities at least 30 days before display date, or to Division of Fire Safety if no local authority. Valid for only one date or event and location. Fee: 10% of cost of display ($500 max.)

  • Insurance

    • No requirements in state law. May be required by local authorities.

  • Operator

    • Display must be handled by an operator certified by the state. With certain exceptions, written exam required. Exam fee: $30. Apply to Division of Fire Safety. Certification fee: $25.


Connecticut

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Hand-held and ground based sparkling devices that are non-explosive and non-aerial, and do not contain more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition per item.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • All other consumer fireworks including multiple-tube sparkling devices that exceed 100 grams of total pyrotechnic composition. Novelty items are illegal.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 16 years of age

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to local fire marshal prior to application to State Fire Marshal. Apply to the entity proscribed by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection at least 15 days before display date. Fee of $100.

  • Insurance

    • Required. Minimum of $1 million liability insurance policy per accident for bodily injury and property damage.

  • Operator

    • State license and certificate of competency required. Fee of $200 is paid to state treasurer. May be renewed every three years with a fee of $100. Assistants must be at least 18 years of age.


Delaware

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • No consumer fireworks are permitted in Delaware.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • All consumer fireworks are prohibited Delaware.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 30 days before display date.

  • Insurance

    • Required $1,000,000 minimum per event.

  • Operator

    • License required. Submit application to State Fire Marshal. Written examination required. Operator must be at least 21 years of age, age 18 for assistants. License valid 1 year. Renew annually. Fee $25.


Florida

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Devices approved and listed by State Fire Marshal which emit a shower of sparks upon burning, do not contain any explosive compounds, do not detonate or explode, are handheld or ground based, cannot propel themselves through the air, and contain no more than 100 grams of the chemical compound that produces sparks upon burning. Any device that is not included in the list of approved items is prohibited, except that snakes, smoke devices, trick noisemakers, party poppers, booby traps, snappers, trick match. cigarette load, and auto burglar alarms, each of which are subject to size limitations and may be sold at all times.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, daygo bombs, and any fireworks containing explosive or flammable compounds.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to local authorities at least 15 days before display date. Displays shall be governed by NFPA 1123 (1995 edition), but local authorities may impose a stricter requirements.

  • Insurance

    • Required, $500 minimum bond.

  • Operator

    • Required to be approved by the chief of police and fire department of the location of the display. No license specifically required in state law. However, local jurisdiction may require permit.


Georgia

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • All consumer fireworks meeting CPSC criteria as defined in 16 C.F.R. Parts 1500 and 1507, 49 CFR Part 172, and the APA 87-1 (2001 ed.); Roman Candles; wire or wood sparklers of 100 grams or less of mixture per item; other sparkling items which are nonexplosive and nonaerial and contain 75 grams or less of chemical compound per tube or a total of 500 grams or less for multiple tubes; snake and glow worms; smoke devices; or trick noise makers which include paper streamers, party poppers, string poppers, snappers, and drop props each consisting of 0.25 grains or less of explosive mixture.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Balloon, bag, parachute, or other similar device which requires fire underneath for propulsion or to release or cause to be released any floating water lantern or wish lantern which uses a flame to create a lighting effect in any public waterway, lake, pond, stream, or river.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 18 years of age

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to judge of the probate court of the county in which the exhibition or display is to be held at least 10 days before display date. $10 fee, plus $1 per copy of permit.

  • Insurance

    • Bond or insurance required. Permit application must be accompanied by either (1) a $10,000 bond conditioned for the payment of damages which may be caused either to persons or to property by reason of the display or (2) evidence that the applicant carries liability insurance for bodily injury in the amount of not less than $25,000 for each person and $50,000 for each accident and for property damage in the amount of not less than $25,000 for each accident and $50,000 aggregate, with an insurance company duly licensed by the Commissioner of Insurance.

  • Operator

    • Display must be conducted by a competent operator approved by the judge issuing the display permit. A license issued by the Safety Fire Commissioner is also required, the application for which requires provide proof of insurance, with $1 million as the minimum amount of coverage. License fee is $1,500.


Hawaii

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Items that comply with regulations of CPSC and DOT definitions. Permit required for each 5,000 individual units of firecrackers.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Aerial fireworks such as, bottle rockets, sky rockets, missile-type rockets, helicopters, torpedoes, daygo bombs, roman candles, flying pigs, and jumping jacks, which move about the ground farther than inside a circle with a radius of twelve feet as measured from the point where the item was placed and ignited, aerial shells and mines.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 18 years of age

  • Age to Sell

    • 18 years of age

  • Limitations on Selling

    • Consumer fireworks cannot be sold after: 12:01 a.m. on New Year’s day; 6:00 p.m. on Chinese New Year’s Day; 8:00 p.m. on July 4th.

  • Limitations on Purchasing

    • Purchase of consumer fireworks can only occur within 5 days of New Years, Chinese New Years, July 4th, or a culture event for which a permit has been obtained.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to County at least 20 days before display date. Permit fee is $110. An inspection fee of $200 may be assessed.

  • Insurance

    • Surety bond or insurance required. If insurance, the policy must provide for at least $5,000 for injury or death of any person, $10,000 for the injury or death of 2 persons, $5,000 property damage. If surety bond, minimum amount is $10,000. Local authority may require higher amounts.

  • Operator

    • State certificate of fitness license


Idaho

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Non-aerial fireworks devices, such as ground spinners, fountains, sparklers, smoke devices, or snakes.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Any fireworks not specifically permitted, such as firecrackers, jumping jacks, or similar products.

  • Selling Period

    • Midnight, June 23 through midnight, July 5; Midnight December 26 through midnight January 1; local jurisdictions may extend the period by five days.

  • License

    • Required to import fireworks into the state. Fee may be required.

  • Retail Sales Permit

    • Apply to local authorities; $25 fee may be required; valid for one year.

  • Liability

    • Bond or insurance up to $1,000,000 may be required.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to local authorities. $125 maximum fee.

  • Insurance

    • Bond or insurance up to $1,000,000 may be required.

  • Operator

    • Display must be supervised by a qualified person as determined by the authority having jurisdiction.


Illinois

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Novelty items including snakes or glow worms; smoke devices; trick noisemakers known as ‘party poppers’, ‘booby traps’, ‘snappers’, and sparklers. The state fire marshal maintains a list, updated annually, of approved consumer fireworks

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Handheld fireworks, bottle rockets, firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, chasers, buzz bombs, helicopters, missiles, pin wheels, planes.

  • Insurance

    • Local authority may require.

  • Operator

    • Must successfully pass a Consumer Fireworks Safety training class approved by the State Fire Marshal on an annual basis. The class and test is given by the local authority. Local authority may require criminal background check.

  • Sale

    • Once an operator obtains a consumer fireworks display permit from the local authority, the operator may purchase approved consumer fireworks from a registered consumer fireworks retailer.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Required. Apply to the local authorities at least 15 days before the display date. Site inspection by the local fire department required for approval of permit.

  • Insurance

    • Local authority may require not less than $1,000,000. State requires all licensed pyrotechnic operators to be employed by a licensed pyrotechnic distributor who carries $1,000,000 general liability, $1,000,000 products liability and Illinois Workers Compensation insurance.

  • Operator

    • Must be licensed by the State Fire Marshal, at least 21 years old, and employed by a licensed Pyrotechnic Distributor. Assistants must be at least 18 years old, employed by the licensed pyrotechnic distributor or production company or insured, and registered with the State Fire Marshal.


Indiana

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Consumer fireworks that comply with the construction, chemical composition, and labeling regulations of the U.S. Consumer Products Commission.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • A special discharge location, property of the person, or property of a person who has provided permission.

  • Time Limitations

    • May be used only between 9am and 11pm on days other than holidays. On holidays (which includes Memorial Day, July 4th, and New Year’s Eve) fireworks may be used from 9am until midnight. Local authorities may further limit permissible use.

  • Public Safety Fee

    • State law imposes a fee based on retail income.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 18 years of age.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 5 days before display date. Permit application must name the operator and set forth his experience. (For indoor pyrotechnics, 24 hour written notice must be provided to the local fire department.)

  • Insurance

    • Required: $10,000 minimum to $100,000 maximum personal injury insurance, $10,000 minimum to $100,000 maximum property damage insurance. However, for indoor pyrotechnics, the general liability coverage must be at least $500,000 for personal injury, and $500,000 for property damage.

  • Operator

    • Operator must be approved by the fire chief of the local fire department in which the display is to be located.


Iowa

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • First-class consumer fireworks (aerial shell kits and reloadable tubes; chasers; helicopter and aerial spinners; firecrackers; mine and shell devices; missile-type rockets; roman candles; sky rockets and bottle rockets; multiple tube devices manufactured in accordance with APA 87-1, section 3.5) and second-class consumer fireworks (cone fountains; cylindrical fountains; flitter sparklers; grand and hand-held sparkling devices, including multiple tube ground and hand held sparking devices that are manufactured in accordance with APA 87-1, section 3.5; ground spinners; illuminating torches; toy smoke devices that are not classified as novelties pursuant to APA 87-1, section 3.2; wheels and wire or dipped sparklers that are not classified as novelties pursuant to APA 87-1, section 3.2).

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • None are specifically prohibited.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Permit required from local authorities, except no permit is required for the display of display fireworks at the Iowa state fairgrounds by the Iowa state fair board, at incorporated county fairs, or at district fairs receiving state aid.

  • Insurance

    • None specifically required in state law but may be local requirements.

  • Operator

    • No license specifically required in state law but must be handled by a competent operator.


Kansas

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • All pyrotechnic devices classified as consumer fireworks by DOT, except certain rockets.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Any rockets mounted on a wire or stick, including any device containing such rockets.

  • Selling Period

    • June 27-July 5 (including delivery of mail-order fireworks)

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to local authorities for written permission. NFPA1123 requirements adopted by reference.

  • Insurance

    • Required per NFPA 1123, Sec. 6-32.

  • Operator

    • License required.


Kentucky

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Those that comply with the construction, chemical composition, & labeling regulations of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission including aerial devices including rockets & bottle rockets, helicopters, & aerial spinners, roman candles, mines. Ground and hand-held sparkling devices (dipped stick or wire sparklers), cylindrical and cone fountain, illuminating torch, wheel, ground spinner, flitter sparkler,) smoke, novelties, and trick noisemakers, & audible ground devices.

  • Registration

    • Entities that want to sell consumer fireworks must register annually with the State Fire Marshal. The registration fee for a permanent retailer (year round) is $500. The registration fee for a seasonal retailers (retail sales from June 10 – July 7th & December 26th – January 4th) is $250. Seasonal retailer registration forms must be received at least 15 days prior to offering consumer fireworks for sale. (Late registration may be permitted if a $100 fee is paid.)

  • Age to Purchase

    • 18 years of age.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Notify State Fire Marshal at least 15 days prior to display date. Prior to submission, must secure approval of local authority having jurisdiction where display will be conducted.

  • Insurance

    • Minimum required by law is $1,000,000. Local authorities may require a larger amount.

  • Operator

    • At least one “competent display operator” on site during setup and firing. Competent display operator shall have valid ATF license and participated as an assistant in the firing of at least 5 public displays.


Louisiana

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Consumer fireworks as defined by DOT and the CPSC. (This includes: cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, illuminating torches, pyrotechnic wheel devices, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, toy smoke devices, sky rockets and bottle rockets, missile- type rockets, helicopter aerial spinners, roman candles, mines or shells, firecrackers, and multiple tube fireworks.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Cherry bombs, tubular salutes, 2” American-made salutes, firecrackers with casings exceeding 1½”in length or ¼” in diameter, repeating bombs, aerial bombs, torpedoes exceeding 3/8” in diameter, roman candles larger than 10 ball, and sky rockets with a casing of less than 5/8” in diameter and less than 2 7/8” in length, with an over all length of 15”.

  • Selling Period

    • Noon June 16 through midnight July 5, and noon December 15 through midnight January 1.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 15 years of age.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to State Fire Marshal or certified local authorities at least 5 days before event, $100 fee.

  • Insurance

    • None specifically required in state law.

  • Operator

    • Displays must be conducted under the control of a Fire Marshall licensed operator. The operator, among other requirements, must be 21 and pass a written test.


Maine

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Consumer fireworks items tested & certified by a 3rd party laboratory as conforming with CPSC standards.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Missile type rockets, helicopters, aerial spinners, sky rockets, and bottle rockets, as defined by the State Fire Marshal.

  • Insurance

    • Maintain public and product liability insurance of at least $2,000,000.

  • Requirement to Sale

    • At least 21, holds federal and state license, and any additional local requirements. Retail license fee $5,000. Consumer fireworks may only be sold from a permanent, fixed stand-alone building dedicated solely to the storage and sale of consumer fireworks. Buildings must be fully sprinkled with a sprinkler system meeting NFPA 13, some exceptions provided.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 21 years of age.

  • Permissible Use Limitations

    • Use permitted every day from 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m., except on July 4th, December 31st, and the weekends immediately before and after July 4th and December 31st. On those dates, consumer firework use is permitted from 9:00 a.m. until 12:30 a.m. the next day. Consumer fireworks may only be used on the property of the property of the person using the fireworks or a person consenting to such use.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to the Commissioner of Public Safety at least 20 days before display date. $111 fee for inspection of fireworks display sites; $30 fee for permit per display; $100 fee for monitored display of indoor fireworks occurring outside od normal business hours.

  • Insurance

    • $1,000,000 liability

  • Operator

    • Minimum age: 21 years. Operator must take test for certification from State Fire Marshal’s Office. Fee $180, annual renewal fee $25.


Maryland

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Sparklers containing no chlorates or perchlorates, ground based sparkling devices that are non-aerial non-explosive, and are labeled in accordance with the requirements of CPSC. Paper wrapped snappers containing less than 3/100 grains of explosive composition, and snakes that contain no mercury and are not regulated by DOT. Note: retailers must submit products for testing and approval to State Fire Marshal’s Office prior to sale.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • All others.

  • Retail Sales Requirements

    • Only those wholesale/distributor companies that register their products with the State Fire Marshal to be wholesaled/distributed in the state will be allowed to wholesale/distribute their products to retail outlets in Maryland. All retail outlets must conform to the fire prevention codes for the state regarding ground based sparkling devices (Title 29, Department of State Police, Subtitle 06, Fire Prevention Commission.) Consumer fireworks are illegal to retail or use in Town of BelAir (Hartford County), Town of Ocean City (Worcester County), Baltimore City, and the following counties: Howard, Montgomery, and Prince George’s. Companies/individuals should contact local government for all other counties prior to wholesaling/distributing, retailing, or using consumer fireworks. The local government may require additional permits or fees.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 16 years of age.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 10 days before display date. $50 fee per display. A late fee of $50 per display for applications submitted less than 10 days from the date of the display(s). Display permits are needed for outdoor displays, as well as proximate audience displays.

  • Insurance

    • Required. Minimum $25,000 for injury of one person, $50,000 for more than one person; $10,000 property damage. Workman’s comp or approved accident insurance required. The policy or certificate shall provide that the coverage may not be canceled without at least 30 days notice to the State Fire Marshal. The State of Maryland shall be named as an insured in the contract of insurance.

  • Operator

    • State license required. $150 fee for a 3 year permit. Apply to State Fire Marshal, minimum age 21 years. Lead operator shall complete & pass the Maryland Fireworks Shooters Test. All displays must be in accordance with NFPA 1123, which is incorporated by reference.


Massachusetts

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • None.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, flares, candles, bombs, sparklers, wheels, colored fire, fountains, mines, and serpents.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to local fire chief at least 15 days before display date. Approved permit is sent by local fire department to Office of State Fire Marshal, not less than five days before the display date.

  • Insurance

    • Certificate of liability for $1,000,000 and bond for $15,000.

  • Operator

    • State license required, apply to State Fire Marshal, valid two years, $40 fee. Fireworks and special effects are separate personal licenses, $40 fee each. Fireworks Special Effects Users Certificate issued to companies covers both.


Michigan

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • All consumer fireworks meeting CPSC criteria as defined in APA Std. 87-1 sections 3.1.2, 3.1.3 and 3.5 and ground & handheld sparkling devices.

  • Retail Location

    • Retail location must satisfy NFPA 101, NFPA 1124. Fireworks safety fee imposed on sales. The Dept. of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs' Bureau of Fire Services must review and approve the location.

  • Licensing

    • Certificate to sell retail consumer fireworks required. Fee $600-$1000 per location. Expires April 30 the year after issued.

  • Insurance

    • During periods when fireworks are sold, insurance in an amount of $10,000,000 per occurrence must be held and maintained.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 18 years of age. (Also the purchaser cannot be under the influence of drugs or alcohol.)

  • Use Restrictions

    • Cannot be used on public or private property unless express permission is obtained.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to local governing body. NFPA 1123 applies to the display.

  • Insurance

    • Required; amount determined by local authorities.

  • Operator

    • No license specifically required in state law, local authorities may rule on competency and qualifications of operator.


Minnesota

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Wire or wood sparklers of not more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition per item. Ground-based sparkling devices which are non-explosive and non-aerial, and contain 75 grams or less of chemical mixture per tube or a total of 500 grams or less for multiple tube items and include: fountains, cones, illuminating torches, wheels, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, flash / strobes, and novelty devices including snakes, glow worms, trick noisemakers, party poppers, and snappers.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Firecrackers, torpedoes, missiles, skyrockets, bottle rockets, roman candles, daygo bombs, mines and shells, chasers, and parachutes.

  • Age to Purchase

    • 18 years of age.

  • Licensing

    • Local authorities may impose an annual license fee on retailers.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to municipal clerk in the municipality where the display will take place at least 15 days before date of display. Apply to the county auditor if the display will take place outside a city. For indoor displays, apply to the state fire marshal at least 15 days before the date of the display. Indoor permit fee is $150.

  • Insurance

    • Required, in amount deemed adequate by fire chief.

  • Operator

    • Must be state certified. Must be 21 years of age, pass a written exam, and provide proof of experience. Fee: $100.


Mississippi

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Consumer fireworks as defined by the CPSC containing 2 grams or less of explosive composition, including cone fountains, small Chinese crackers, small non-explosive Roman candles, and rockets. Nonexplosive sparklers are permitted.

  • Selling Period

    • June 15-July 5 and December 5-January 2

  • Age to Purchase

    • 12 years of age.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to local authorities at least 15 days before display date. Provisions of NFPA 1123 must be met. (NFPA 1126 for an indoor display.)

  • Insurance

    • Required.

  • Operator

    • No license specifically required in state law.


Missouri

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Consumer Fireworks in compliance with the regulations of the CPSC.

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Ground salutes that exceed DOT limits.

  • Selling Period

    • June 20—July 10 and December 20—January 2

  • Age to Purchase

    • 14 years of age unless accompanied by parent or guardian.

  • Age to Sell

    • 16 years of age unless supervised by an adult.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to the State Fire Marshal at least 10 days prior to the event. Fee $100. Copy of local permits must be submitted to the State Fire Marshal within 45 days of the display.

  • Insurance

    • Must furnish proof of financial responsibility to satisfy claims for personal injury or property damage. Minimum limit of $1,000,000 per occurrence. Insurance also must provide equivalent coverage for each employee.

  • Operator

    • Must be licensed. License by type: Licensed Operator, a fee of $100 for three (3) year license; and Pyrotechnic or special effects operator, a fee of $100 for three (3) year license.


Montana

Consumer Fireworks

  • Specifically Permitted

    • Items meeting the CPSC requirements, except for items specifically prohibited (see below).

  • Specifically Prohibited

    • Skyrockets, roman candles, bottle rockets. Mail orders are prohibited.

  • Selling Period

    • June 24-July 5 and December 29-December 31.

  • Sale

    • Salesperson must be at least 18 years of age. Wholesaler’s permit required.

Display Fireworks

  • Display Permit

    • Apply to State Fire Marshal or to local authorities at least 15 days before display date.

  • Insurance

    • Required in an amount considered adequate by the State Fire Marshal or local authorities, not less than $1,000,000 per event.

  • Operator

    • ATF license required.

(Laws by State O-Z)


 

 

facebook facebook Pintrest facebook